Change Language

Transport, Infrastructure and Advanced Manufacturing

With an enviable position in the heart of Asia, Hong Kong is the regional home to many local and global companies seeking to manufacture, source and trade products. Whilst manufacturing takes place in Mainland China and Southeast Asia, many choose Hong Kong as a base due to higher value functions including design, R&D, prototype production, technology applications, quality control, supply chain management, business development and product marketing. The city’s status as one of the world’s busiest and most efficient international container ports makes it the ultimate base for regional and global logistics.

Related Case Studies

A Maritime Giant Rooted in Hong Kong and the GBA

Kevin Li
President, South China & Hong Kong

Related Case Studies

Unlocking the Value of Data to Weather the Storm

Petty Leung
Managing Director, StormGeo Hong Kong Office

Related Case Studies

Hong Kong — the Perfect Headquarters for Global eCommerce Logistics

Hakan Bulat
Chief Executive Officer, WE World Express

Related Case Studies

Maritime Digitalisation — Full Steam Ahead

Firoze Mirza
Managing Director, Bernhard Schulte Shipmanagement Hong Kong

Hong Kong’s prime location has created significant opportunities within the industrial and transport/logistics sector: 

  • Aviation-The Hong Kong International Airport is one of the world’s busiest airports in terms of passenger and air cargo throughput, as well as air traffic movements. The industry will continue to benefit from the commissioning of the third runway in 2022, the infrastructure connectivity to the Greater Bay Area, and the integration of Mainland aviation network of the Zhuhai Airport with the international network of the Hong Kong International Airport to achieve greater synergy. Besides, Hong Kong has established a concessionary tax regime since 2017 for qualifying aircraft lessors and aircraft leasing managers to a tax concession under which only 20% of the net lease rentals are assessed. This regime reduces the profits tax from 16.5 percent to 8.25 percent in regard to aircraft leasing.  
  • Maritime-Hong Kong has established itself as a premier international maritime centre that is home to one of the world's largest shipping communities, owning or operating around 10 percent of the world's merchant fleet. The presence of a vibrant maritime cluster provides a comprehensive range of maritime services. Hong Kong is the world’s fourth largest shipping register in terms of gross tonnage. To promote the Hong Kong Ship Register, the Marine Department has set up regional desks at the Economic and Trade Offices of London, Shanghai, Singapore and Sydney, with more to come in North Asia and North America.  Besides, to strengthen Hong Kong’s role as a global maritime centre, the Inland Revenue (Amendment) (Ship Leasing Tax Concessions) Bill 2020 was passed in June 2020 to introduce concessionary tax measures for qualifying ship lessors and ship leasing managers. Under the new scheme, which applies to revenue earned on or after 1 April 2020, the tax rate on the qualifying profits of ship lessors carrying out operating lease and finance lease activities is 0 percent.  The tax rate on the qualifying profits of ship leasing managers is 0 percent or 8.25 percent.
  • Logistics-Combined with maritime and aviation industries and land freight transport, logistics plays a pivotal role in sustaining Hong Kong's economic growth. Increased trade with Mainland China especially the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area, and the continued growth in e-commerce, bolster the logistics development.  As the industry continues to prosper, the adoption of smart technology will open up new possibilities. The Government has rolled out the Pilot Subsidy Scheme for third-party logistics service providers to encourage their adoption of more technology and IT solutions.
  • Infrastructure - Infrastructure development enables Hong Kong to sustain economic development and meet the challenges of population growth. In the next few years, annual capital works expenditure is expected to reach HK$100 billion, and the annual total construction output will increase to around HK$300 billion. In this connection, the Lantau Tomorrow Vision aims to increase land supply meeting housing and other needs; and the Northern Metropolis aims to develop the northern part of Hong Kong into a metropolitan area for people to live, work and travel in the next 20 years. There are also projects of Energizing Kowloon East, railways, roads, airport expansion and so on enabling Hong Kong’s further development and fostering cross-boundary integration. With these mega projects underway, adopting modern construction methods and techniques, information technology and automation technology in Building Information Modelling (BIM), Modular Integrated Construction (MiC), prefabricated steel rebar, and other advanced technologies such as automated wall plastering machines helps increase productivity.
  • Advanced Manufacturing-The Government has been actively promoting “re-industrialisation” in recent years to develop advanced manufacturing industries that are based on new technologies and intelligent manufacturing, so as to identify a new impetus to the economy. The HK$2 billion Re-industrialisation Funding Scheme (RFS) has been rolled out to encourage manufacturers to set up new smart production lines in Hong Kong. The Advanced Manufacturing Centre (AMC), slated to open in mid-2022, will provide agile and smart production facilities. Re-industrialisation and Technology Training Programme (RTTP) subsidises companies to nurture talents. Advanced manufacturing will become an engine of Hong Kong’s economic growth in future.


Fast Facts
Favourable
tax regimes
Aircraft leasing: 20% of net lease rentals taxed at 8.25%; and ship operating lease & finance lease activities: 0%
$100 billion
Annual capital works
Annual capital works expenditure of over $100 billion in the next few years, creating over 300,000 jobs for the construction industry
$6.6 billion
Investment
The Advanced Manufacturing Centre provides re-industrialisation opportunities in I&T driven, critical, and traditional processes
Contact Us
Leave your details and we'll be in touch.

Refresh the captcha Play the captcha audio

The personal information you have provided will help us deliver, develop and promote our services. By submitting your details, ticking the boxes and clicking "Submit" indicate that you have read and agreed to our privacy policy and cookie policy. Please read these to understand your data rights.

Benjamin Wong
Head of Transport, Infrastructure and Advanced Manufacturing
Contact General Enquiries
24/F, Fairmont House, 8 Cotton Tree Drive, Central, Hong Kong
Update on COVID-19: Please refer to HKSARG's website on the Fight Against the Coronavirus for the latest situation, health measures, travel advisories, a wide range of support measures available to businesses and a list of FAQs.

Share to

QR

Change Language

運輸、基建和高端製造

坐擁亞洲核心區域,香港是眾多製造、採購及貿易商的區域中心。由於內地及東南亞國家均主力製造, 很多公司均看準香港在設計、研發、原型生產、科技應用、品質監管、供應鏈管理、商業發展及產品市場推廣等的高價值優勢,所以選擇香港作為理想基地。香港作為全球最繁忙及最有效率的國際貨櫃港,是發展地區或跨國物流及供應鏈業務的理想地點。

相關投資案例

航運巨企扎根香港及大灣區

李曉冰
以星綜合航運有限公司華南及香港區總裁

相關投資案例

透過數據分析 未雨綢繆

梁鳳英
StormGeo香港辦事處董事總經理

相關投資案例

香港 — 全球電子商貿物流設立總部的理想之地

Hakan Bulat
WE World Express首席執行官

相關投資案例

全速邁向海事數碼化

Firoze Mirza
貝仕船舶管理(香港)董事總經理

香港優越的地理位置, 為工業生產、運輸物流業創造龐大機遇:

  • 航空-以客運量、貨運量和航空交通量計,香港國際機場是全球最繁忙的機場之一。未來香港航空業將繼續受惠於各種基建工程,包括於2022年投入使用的第三跑道,加上連接粵港澳大灣區的基礎設施,以及結合珠海機場的內地航空網絡與香港國際機場的國際網絡,將為業界帶來更大的協同效應。香港特區政府在2017年修訂《稅務條例》,向在本港發展飛機租賃及相關業務的合資格飛機出租商及飛機租賃管理商提供稅務寬減,僅淨租約付款的20%需要評稅。另外,飛機租賃業務的利得稅稅率由16.5%寬減至 8.25%。
  • 海運-作為環球最具規模的海運中心之一;香港船東擁有或管理的商船船隊約佔全球10%。香港擁有多元化的海運業群提供全方位專業服務,有助業界將業務推向全球。以船舶總噸位計算,香港船舶註冊全球排名第四。為了向海外推廣香港船舶註冊,海事處已在倫敦、上海、新加坡和悉尼的經濟貿易辦事處設立了區域支援團隊,更多的支援團隊將於北亞洲和北美設立。另外,為加強香港作為全球海運中心的角色,《2020年稅務(修訂)(船舶租賃稅務寬減)條例草案》於2020年6月通過,為香港的合資格船舶出租商及合資格船舶租賃管理商提供稅務寬減。新稅制適用於2020年4月1日或之後賺取的收入。在新稅制下,船舶出租商進行營運租賃和融資租賃活動,所得合資格利潤的稅率為0%。船舶租賃管理商所得合資格利潤的稅率為0%或8.25%。
  • 物流-結合海運、空運和陸路貨運的物流業,對維持香港的經濟增長起著舉足輕重的作用。與中國內地特別是粵港澳大灣區的貿易增加,以及電子商務持續增長,均有利本港物流業發展。隨著行業持續蓬勃發展,智能技術的採用將開闢新機遇。政府已推出第三方物流服務供應商資助先導計劃,以鼓勵業界採用更多的技術和資訊科技解決方案。
  • 基礎建設 - 基建發展使香港能夠維持經濟發展並應對人口增長的挑戰。未來數年,預計每年基本工程開支將達1,000億港元,全年建築總產值將增至約3,000億港元。就此,「明日大嶼願景」旨在增加土地供應以滿足住房和其他需要;而北部都會區的目標是在未來20年將香港北部地區建設成為宜居宜業宜遊的都會區。此外,亦有起動九龍東計劃、鐵路、道路、機場擴建等項目,推動香港進一步發展,促進跨境融合。隨著這些大型項目的進行,採用建築信息模擬(BIM)、組裝合成建築法(MiC)、預製鋼筋和其他先進技術(如自動牆身批盪機)等現代施工方法和技術、信息技術和自動化技術將有助提高生產力。
  • 先進製造業-政府近年積極推動「再工業化」,發展以新技術和智能製造為基礎的先進製造業,為經濟注入新動力。政府已注資20億港元,推行「再工業化資助計劃」,鼓勵生產商在香港設立新的智能生產線。先進製造業中心 (AMC) 預計於2022年中落成,為企業提供靈活和高度智能化的現代化廠房。「再工業化及科技培訓計劃」資助企業培育人才。先進製造業未來將成為香港經濟增長的引擎。


小檔案
優惠
稅制
飛機租賃業務淨租約付款的20%利得稅率為8.25%;而船舶出租商營運租賃和融資租賃活動所得利潤稅率為0%
1,000億元
每年基建工程
未來數年每年基建投資逾1,000億元,為建造業創造超過30萬個就業機會
66億元
投資
先進製造業中心提供由創科驅動、關鍵和傳統流程的再工業化機遇
聯繫我們
請提供聯絡資料,我們將盡快與您聯繫。

重新繪畫驗證碼 播放驗證碼音訊

投資推廣署收集閣下的所提供的個人資料,以便為您提供本署的服務。當您提供聯絡資料、勾選方框以及點擊「遞交」按鈕,即表示您已閱讀並明白及同意本署的私隱政策。請詳細閱讀及了解您擁有個人資料保密之權利。

王國藩
運輸、基建和高端製造業主管
香港總辦事處
中環紅棉路8號東昌大廈24樓
2019冠狀病毒病-香港最新情況:請瀏覽香港特別行政區同心抗疫網站,以掌握最新情況,健康及旅遊指引,以及一系列支援企業的措施和常見問題。

Share to

QR